The value of a Ph.D. in the House of Commons

I read Marc Jaccard’s article in the Walrus this morning, and it made me pretty sad. When I started graduate school five years ago, I thought that getting a Ph.D. would help me fight climate change. I want to help push for and enact policy changes in Canada that will result in meaningful action on climate change, and I thought that a Ph.D. would enhance my credibility and strengthen my voice – that politicians would respect me more if I were an expert in carbon and nitrogen cycling. Dr. Jaccard’s article (along with many others), makes it clear that the government only respects scientists who agree with its policies.

One thought on “The value of a Ph.D. in the House of Commons

Leave a Reply

